My Handmade Valentine’s Day Gift for Sergey

A story about effort in love and the preservation of a memory

Tara Purswani
3 min readFeb 12, 2023
Photo by Harry Grout on Unsplash

Sergey’s love languages were words and gifts.

We met on Facebook Dating and it was instant. We talked for 25 hours on the phone the whole next week.

He showed up with a dozen roses on our first date… and our second 💘

I had been with my boyfriend Sergey for about 5 months by the time Valentine’s Day rolled around.

We planned on me spending the weekend at his place in Ridgewood, NJ and going out to a fancy Indian restaurant. I wish I could remember the name of the place.

The restaurant experience was his gift for me. Well, and the knowledge that my Ukrainian-Russian boyfriend was taking an interest in Indian food since I am half Indian.

Luckily, he was good with spicy 🌶️

I had already made chicken tikka masala from scratch for him, and he loved it. He said the chicken was melt in your mouth good.

Valentine’s Day would be his third time having Indian.

It was delicious.

--

--

Tara Purswani

Linguiphile and AI Data Trainer at Meta. Slavic language enthusiast, striving for fluency in Russian, juggling Ukrainian; dabbling in Icelandic and more...